Race for Kay County Commissioner heats up

by Jordan Green

Four people are running for the Kay County District No. 3 Commissioner’s seat, and some familiar faces have thrown their hats into the electoral ring.

Incumbent John Wilson, who filed to retain his seat, will be challenged by former County Commissioner Paul “Butch” Skidmore and Joe Allbaugh, a Blackwell native who led the Federal Emergency Management Agency. Blackwell resident Kent Field is also running for the office.

The four filed last week during the state’s filing period for dozens of offices at the county, state and federal levels. Candidates filed for several other county offices, too.

Wilson’s term representing District 3, which includes Blackwell, began in 2019. He won the seat following a tense election in which he faced off against Skidmore, who then held the office.

The following is a rundown of filings for several other local and statewide offices.


Two incumbent Kay County judges were automatically reelected to their seats because they had no opponents.

Judge Lee Turner was reelected to the District 8, Office 1 judicial seat, and Associate Judge David Bandy was reelected to the associate judge’s seat.
Kay County District Attorney Brian Hermanson was also automatically reelected to his seat serving the state’s eighth district, which includes Kay and Noble counties.


Two state legislators representing Kay County will face an election this year.

Sen. Bill Coleman, R-Ponca City, will face Republican challenger Emily Delozier of Sand Springs for the District 10 seat in the state Senate. The seat represents eastern Kay County and all of Osage County.

Rep. Ken Luttrell, R-Ponca City, filed to retain his State House seat representing District 37, which includes eastern Kay and western Osage counties. He’s challenged by Republican Joe Vaden Jr.

Rep. John Pfeiffer, R-Orlando, will retain the state House’s District 38 seat, which includes Kay County, as he had no opponents.


Contests didn’t develop for three other Kay County offices.

Janell Leaming was the only candidate to file for the county assessor’s office. Rhonda Stephens was the lone candidate to run for the county treasurer’s seat. Shane Jones was the only person to run for the County Commissioner District No. 1 seat.


Voters will have plenty of options – 16, to be exact – in the race to replace retiring U.S. Sen. Jim Inhofe. Thirteen Republicans, one Democrat, one Libertarian and one Independent filed to run.

Among the Republican candidates are: U.S. Rep. Markwayne Mullin, former Oklahoma Speaker of the House T.W. Shannon, Oklahoma Senator Nathan Dahm, former Oklahoma Attorney General Scott Pruitt and former Inhofe Chief of Staff Luke Holland. Other candidates include: Alex Gray, Adam Holley, Jessica Jean Garrison, Laura Moreno, Michael Coibion, Paul Royse, John F. Thompkins and Randy J. Grellner.

Inhofe announced his retirement earlier this year, and the winner will fill out the remainder of his term, ending in 2024. Inhofe has already endorsed Holland to be his successor, and the race is expected to kick off a political firestorm, pundits say.

The race for Oklahoma’s other U.S. Senate seat, held by James Lankford, has more Democratic candidates than Republican challengers. Running on the Republican ticket are Lankford, Jackson Lahmeyer and Joan Farr. Six Democrats filed to run, and they are: Jason Bollinger, Madison Horn, Arya Azma, Brandon Wade, Dennis L. Baker and Jo Glenn.

The Libertarian candidate is Kenneth D. Blevins, and the Independent is Michael L. Delaney.


Four candidates filed to run for Oklahoma’s District No. 3 seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The district, which includes Kay County and much of western Oklahoma, is represented by Frank Lucas, R-Cheyenne. Lucas filed to retain his seat, and he’s challenged by Republicans Wade Burleson and Stephen Butler. Democrat Jeremiah Ross filed to run as well.


Gov. Kevin Stitt filed to run for another four-year term, and he’s challenged by three Republicans, two Democrats, one Libertarian and one Independent.

Running on the Republican ticket against Stitt are Mark Sherwood, a Broken Arrow doctor; Joe Kintsel, head of the Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs; and Moira McCabe.

Democrats are Joy Hofmeister, the state’s superintendent of public instruction, and Connie Johnson, a former state senator.

Ervin Yen, a former state senator, is running as an Independent. Natalie Bruno, an Edmond marketing executive, is running as a Libertarian.


Three people filed to run for the Oklahoma Attorney General’s office.

Incumbent John O’Connor filed to retain his seat, and Gentner Drummond – who narrowly lost the seat to former Attorney General Mike Hunter – also filed for the office.

Libertarian Lynda Steele is also running for the seat.

Several other statewide offices will be on the ballot for voters. Primary elections will begin in June.

Almost 570 candidates filed to run for offices across the state.

The Journal-Tribune will have more election coverage in the coming months.