Oklahoma voters take to the polls for county commissioner, senator, and more

by Jordan Green

The June 28 election is less than one week away, and candidates for various local, state and federal offices are making their last pitches to win over voters.

Here’s a quick rundown of the candidates. Offices where no race developed are not included here. Information about early voting is also included here.


Four people are running for the Kay County District No. 3 Commissioner’s seat, which covers Blackwell and much of western Kay County.

Incumbent John Wilson, who filed to retain his seat, is challenged by former County Commissioner Paul “Butch” Skidmore and Joe Allbaugh, a Blackwell native who led the Federal Emergency Management Agency. Blackwell resident Kent Field is also running for the office. 


Sen. Bill Coleman, R-Ponca City, will face Republican challenger Emily Delozier of Sand Springs for the District 10 seat in the state Senate. The seat represents eastern Kay County and all of Osage County.

Rep. Ken Luttrell, R-Ponca City, is running to retain his State House seat representing District 37, which includes eastern Kay and western Osage counties. He’s challenged by Republican Joe Vaden Jr.


Voters will have plenty of options – 16, to be exact – in the race to replace retiring U.S. Sen. Jim Inhofe. Thirteen Republicans, one Democrat, one Libertarian and one Independent filed to run.

Among the Republican candidates are: U.S. Rep. Markwayne Mullin, former Oklahoma Speaker of the House T.W. Shannon, Oklahoma Senator Nathan Dahm, former Oklahoma Attorney General Scott Pruitt and former Inhofe Chief of Staff Luke Holland. Other candidates include: Alex Gray, Adam Holley, Jessica Jean Garrison, Laura Moreno, Michael Coibion, Paul Royse, John F. Thompkins and Randy J. Grellner.

The race for Oklahoma’s other U.S. Senate seat, held by James Lankford, has more Democratic candidates than Republican challengers. Running on the Republican ticket are Lankford, Jackson Lahmeyer and Joan Farr. Six Democrats filed to run, and they are: Jason Bollinger, Madison Horn, Arya Azma, Brandon Wade, Dennis L. Baker and Jo Glenn.

The Libertarian candidate is Kenneth D. Blevins, and the Independent is Michael L. Delaney.


Four candidates filed to run for Oklahoma’s District No. 3 seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The district, which includes Kay County and much of western Oklahoma, is represented by Frank Lucas, R-Cheyenne. Lucas filed to retain his seat, and he’s challenged by Republicans Wade Burleson and Stephen Butler. Democrat Jeremiah Ross filed to run as well.


Gov. Kevin Stitt filed to run for another four-year term, and he’s challenged by three Republicans, two Democrats, one Libertarian and one Independent.

Running on the Republican ticket against Stitt are Mark Sherwood, a Broken Arrow doctor; Joe Kintsel, head of the Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs; and Moira McCabe.

Democrats are Joy Hofmeister, the state’s superintendent of public instruction, and Connie Johnson, a former state senator.

Ervin Yen, a former state senator, is running as an Independent. Natalie Bruno, an Edmond marketing executive, is running as a Libertarian.


Three people filed to run for the Oklahoma Attorney General’s office.

Incumbent John O’Connor filed to retain his seat, and Gentner Drummond – who narrowly lost the seat to former Attorney General Mike Hunter – also filed for the office.

Libertarian Lynda Steele is also running for the seat.

Other statewide offices also will be on the ballot for voters.


Early voting begins Thursday in Kay County. Voters who will not be able to make it to the polls on Election Day have the option of voting early at the county election board.  

Kay County Election Board Secretary Carol Leaming said early voting is open to all voters.  

“You do not need to provide and excuse to voter early,” Leaming said. “Oklahoma allows early voting for all elections conducted by the county election board or state election board – from school board and municipal elections to state and federal elections. This is a great option for those who will be out of town on Election Day or who want to avoid long ling.” 

Early voting is available Thursday and Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturday from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the county election board office in the Kay County Administration Building, 219 S. Main St. in Newkirk. Leaming reminds voters that early voting is not available at polling places. 

For more information, contact the election board by calling 580-362-2130 or emailing kaycouty@elections.ok.gov.